Home / Educational / Amitav Ghosh gets Gyanpeeth award of 2018

Amitav Ghosh gets Gyanpeeth award of 2018

Desk. English legend Amitav Ghosh received 54th Gyanpeeth Award for the year 2018. He is the first writer of English to be awarded the Gyanpeeth Award.
It was informed in the release issued by Gyanpeeth that on December 12, 2018, it was decided to give 54th Gyanpeeth Award for the year 2018 to Amitav Ghosh, the English author, in the Gyanpeeth Selection Committee meeting chaired by Pratibha Roy.
Sources of Gyanpeeth said that English was included as the language of the Jnanpith award three years ago and Amitav Ghosh was the first writer of English to be awarded the country’s highest literary award.
In the form of the highest literary award of the country, the Gyanpeeth award, Amitav Ghosh will be given a sum of Rs 11 lakhs, Vagdevi statue and citation.
About Gyanpeeth Award:
• Jnanpith Award is the highest award given by Indian Jnanpith Trust for Indian literature.
• Any citizen of India who writes in any of the 22 languages ​​mentioned in the eighth schedule is eligible for this award.
• In the prize, a corpus of eleven lakh rupees is given, the citation and Vagdevi’s bronze statue is given.
• In 1965, the award, which started from a prize money of Rs. 1 lakh, was made in 2005 for Rs. 7 lakhs, which is currently eleven lakh rupees.
• Hindi literary Kunwar Narayan, who was selected for 2005, was the first person to receive the Jnanpith award of Rs. 7 lakhs.
• The first Gyanpeeth Award was given in 1965 to Malayalam writer Jai Shankar Kurup.
• So far, the writers of Hindi and Kannada have received this award seven times. This award has got Bangla 5 times, Malayalam 4 times, Oriya, Urdu and Gujarati three times, Assamese, Marathi, Telugu, Punjabi and Tamil twice.
About Amitav Ghosh:
• Amitav Ghosh was born on July 11, 1956 in Kolkata. He took high education from St. Stephen’s College and Delhi School of Economics, Delhi.
• Amitav Ghosh is a noted English language litterateur. He was awarded the Sahitya Akademi Award in 1989 for his novel The Shadow Lines, composed by him. Ghosh Sahitya Akademi and Padmashri have been honored with many awards.
• Among his major compositions are ‘The Circle of Regions’, ‘De Shadow Line’, ‘The Calcutta Chromosome’, ‘The Glass Palace’, ‘The Hunger Tide’, ‘River of Smoke’ and ‘Flood of Fire’.

Check Also

Interesting facts about the Andaman Sentinel Tribe

Desk. Incident of the murder of an American tourist by the Sentinel tribe of Andaman …

Children of first and second classes will not get Homework

Desk. Human Resource Development Ministry (HRD) has banned the first and second classes of homework. …

Nepal government bans Indian notes of 200, 500 and 2000 rupees

Desk. Nepal Government has banned Indian notes of 200 rupees, 500 rupees and 2000 rupees. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *